Orange Cap Winner Of All IPL Season


In IPL leading run scorer is honored with an orange cap. From last 10 years, there are Eight players who have got this title among them 3 are Indian Players and  5 Foreign Players.All the players who open the innings for the respective team and Left handed batsman(7) have got more Orange Cap than right-handed batsman(3).To have an orange cap is a proud moment for any batsman this show how consistent is he in his performance and his contribution to the team.Only David Warner and Chris Gayle are two players who have got this cap twice in all IPL season.

Here list of Orange Cap Player from IPL (2008-2017)

1-Shaun Marsh (KXIP-2008)-Shaun Marsh was the first player to get the orange cap. He has scored 616 runs in 11 innings at a strike rate of 139.68.The total ball he has faced is 441.Only 1 century and 5 half-centuries scored in 11 matches.38.31% of total runs are scored in four’s and 25.32% of the total runs are scored in sixes.Shaun Marsh High score is 115 runs against Rajasthan Royals in Punjab Cricket Association Stadium. In IPL 2008.

2- Matthew Hayden (CSK-2009)-Matthew Hayden explosive opener of Australia played for Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2009.Tall and Strong guy hits the ball hard, Years of experience is brought to the table by him so that youngster can learn from his experience.Matthew Hayden aggressive batting can take the game in a flash from opponent team.572 runs are scored in 12 innings with a strike rate of of runs in fours and 23.07% of runs in sixes.

3-Sachin Tendulkar (MI-2010)- Master blaster Sachin Tendulkar was the leading run scorer in IPL 2010, For Mumbai Indians, he opens the innings and his class of batting is excellent. Sachin Tendulkar doesn’t hit the ball hard rather he believes in the timing of ball. Sachin Tendulkar has scored 618 runs in 15 innings in which he has faced 466 balls.Strike rate is 132.6 and a high score is 89*.55.66% of the runs are scored in fours and 2.91% of the total runs are scored with sixes.

4-Chris Gayle (RCB-2011-2012)-West-Indian hard-hitting opener won the orange cap 2 times in the consecutive season of IPL 2011 & IPL 2012. Comparing the two season runs 608 in 2011 & 733 runs in 2012 and ball faced in each season is 332 & 456 respectively. In IPL 2011 strike rate was 183.13 it get the dip in IPL 2012 to 160.74.In IPL 2012 25.10% of runs are scored in fours and 48.29 % of runs scored in sixes while In IPL 2011 37.5% runs are scored in fours and 43.42% of the runs scored in sixes.

5- Michael Hussey (CSK-2013)-Austrailia most reliable player in the middle order batsman opens inning for CSK in IPL.The left-handed batsman has a vast variety of classy shots. Michael Hussey has scored 733 runs which were same for previous year orange cap winner Chris Gayle.Strike rate was 129.50 and ball faced in a complete season was 566.44.20 % of runs is scored in fours and only 13.91% of runs are scored with sixes.

6- Robin Uthappa (KKR-2014)- Robin Uthappa aggressive player who has different varieties of shots and his strong area is on side & he is very comfortable against the spin attack. Robin Uthappa has won an orange cap in IPL 2014 by scoring runs 660 in 16 innings with a strike rate of 137.78. Robin Uthappa has face 479 balls & he has hit 74 fours and 18 sixes in a complete season of IPL.

7-David Warner (SH-2015-2017)-David Warner captain who leads from the front and leading run-scorer in IPL 2015 & IPL 2017.David Warner mostly opens the inning for Sunrisers Hyderabad and he is a left-handed batsman with smashing ability to hit the ball out of boundary line. David Warner runs in IPL 2015 was 562 while in IPL 2017 was 641.In IPL 2017 he has faced more balls i.e 452 than in IPL 2015 i.e 359.He has 65 fours and 21 sixes in IPL 2015 while in IPL 2017 he has 63 fours and 26 sixes.

8-Virat Kohli (RCB-2016)India’s run machine opens the innings for Royals Challengers Bangalore has won the Orange cap in IPL 2016.Virat Kohli fitness and his contribution in the field separate from other players.Virat Kohli has scored 973 runs in 16 innings with an average of 81.08 at a strike rate of 152.03.Kohli has faced 640 balls in which he hit 83 boundaries and 38 sixes & High score is 113.

From among all the Orange Cap winner of all IPL season:

Most Runs-Virat Kohli (973)

Best Average-Virat Kohli(81.08)

Best Strike Rate-Chris Gayle(183.13)

Most Sixes-Chris Gayle(59)

Most Fours- Sachin Tendulkar(86)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *